insiderpaster.blogg.se

Is guild wars 2 free to play indefinitely
Is guild wars 2 free to play indefinitely




  1. Is guild wars 2 free to play indefinitely for free#
  2. Is guild wars 2 free to play indefinitely update#

Is guild wars 2 free to play indefinitely update#

Even Star Wars Galaxies kept going for 6 years after the update which made ‘everyone’ rage quit.īut it’s safe to say Arenanet intend to keep it running for many years yet. Although that seems to be relatively rare for games that actually get off the ground. The game could still be going in 15 years time, like Ultima Online, or it could be closed down in a few years due to lack of interest. It’s impossible to say for sure because there are a huge number of factors that go into it. What’s this game’s predicted life? Long enough for me to get my completion-ness done? Will they keep the servers around for only a few years? Ten or more? Until the company goes bankrupt and then some other person comes in and creates their own server a la Phantasy Star Online? With Anet’s servers, however, I don’t know. This isn’t a problem with single-player games since I have all the time I need, or games that use Steam servers since those things aren’t going anywhere for a LONG time. This basically makes me super-paranoid that I have only a finite amount of time to complete the game, and makes me play it long after it stops becoming enjoyable before eventually snapping and quitting the game for a longer period of time, if not permanently. However, a problem has arisen in that this game is online-only. Normally, what I’d do is play it for a while, take a break, and then come back a few weeks/months later when I decide to play it again, play it a ton over a few weeks/months, so on and so forth until I’ve 100% completed the game, and then take it off the roster and replace it with some other game I have. As I realized just a few minutes ago, that something is the clash between my completionist-ness (which wants me to get max rank in PvP and WvW, every skin, and every achievement) and my dophamin receptors (which, as dophamin receptors are supposed to do, retract if doing the same thing over and over, which basically means that playing too much GW2 causes my brain to force me to stop enjoying it for a while). I haven’t played this game in a while, due to a combination of getting bored with it and something that, until now, I couldn’t quite place my finger on.

Is guild wars 2 free to play indefinitely for free#

If you would like to see a list of the full restrictions in place for free accounts, head here. The game they are playing is exactly the same game that they were playing Friday, no changes at all." Everybody can try, and I am confident that when people get into the game it’s going to be exactly the same. "You don’t have to read a big list of changes and tweaks and restrictions, because we’re opening it up the day we announce it. O'Brien's message to players is simple: try it. You’re going to have a bunch of new players but it’s going to be the same friendly community-the same protected community-that it’s always been. "If we did our jobs right," O'Brien says, "and I totally believe that we've done this right, new players coming into the game are going to get the full authentic experience, but the community is not going to change.

is guild wars 2 free to play indefinitely

I ask O'Brien if he's worried about what effect going free might have on the community-a group that ArenaNet has frequently praised for their helpfulness and friendliness. We've been working on various iterations of this for about a year now, making sure that we tweak and get this right" "It’s really important to me-I think it's really important to all of us-that we protect this great community that we have, and so we’ve been tweaking and tweaking. "It’s really important to me that we protect this great community."įor O'Brien, it's essential that ArenaNet safeguard the existing community.

is guild wars 2 free to play indefinitely

We just make sure that people play the game before they can get into a position where they can disrupt other players." "If you didn’t have to do that," says O'Brien, "then there’s no way that we could keep people who were being very disruptive from going back into world versus world over and over with new characters.

is guild wars 2 free to play indefinitely

The example given is World vs World, which will be unavailable until players reach level 60. We would delete the account, and they would create a new account and spam everyone in the game."įinally, ArenaNet has taken steps to stop new players from disrupting the game's more competitive modes. "If we didn’t have a subtle restriction like that in place, then a spammer could spam everyone in the game. "You can whisper to anybody you want to," he says, choosing one example, "but you can’t create new whisper conversations more than about once every 30 seconds." It's a small restriction, but one that shouldn't impact regular players. According to O'Brien, these are all subtle measures. Secondly, protections have been put in place against spammers. Firstly account storage-something ArenaNet views as a luxury. There will, however, be some restrictions in place for free players.






Is guild wars 2 free to play indefinitely